Car Seat Laws in Each US State

Car seat laws in each state

Car seat laws in each state

Knowing if a child should be in a car seat when traveling can be a headache.  Each state has its own laws regarding how old a child must be before they don’t have to use a car seat or booster seat while in a vehicle, and the laws differ greatly: in one state, a child can be 5 years old and just fine in a regular adult seat belt, while in another, the child must be 9 years old before they can ride without a car- or booster-seat.

 


 

So here is a chart describing the car seat requirements for each state.  Please realize that these requirements may change at any time, and this chart may not reflect current laws.

State Rear Facing Age Rear Facing Weight (lbs.) Car Seat Age Car Seat Weight (lbs.) Car Seat Height (in.) Booster Age Booster Seat Weight (lbs.) Booster Height (in.)
Alabama 1 20 5 6
Alaska 4 4
Arizona 5 5
Arkansas 6 60 6 60
California 6 60 6 60
Colorado 1 20 4 40 6 55
Connecticut 1 20 6 60 6 60
Delaware 6 60 8 66
District of Columbia 8
Florida 3 5
Georgia 6 6
Hawaii 8 57
Idaho 1 4 6
Illinois 8 8
Indiana 8 8 57
Iowa 1 20 6 6
Kansas 4 8 80 57
Kentucky 40 7 50
Louisiana 1 20 4 40 60
Maine 40 8 80
Maryland 6 40 8 65 57
Massachusetts 5 40 8 57
Michigan 4 7 57
Minnesota 1 20 4 8 57
Mississippi 4 7 65 57
Missouri 4 40 7 80 57
Montana 6 60 6 60
Nebraska 6 6
Nevada 6 60 6 60
New Hampshire 6 55 6 55
New Jersey 8 80 8 80
New Mexico 1 6 60 6 60
New York 8 8
North Carolina 8 80 8 80
North Dakota 7 7 80 57
Ohio 1 20 4 40 8 40 57
Oklahoma 6 6
Oregon 1 20 4 40 8 57
Pennsylvania 4 8
Rhode Island 7 80 54 7 80 54
South Carolina 1 20 5 40 6 80
South Dakota 5 40
Tennessee 1 20 4 8 60 57
Texas 5 36 5 36
Utah 1 20 4 40 8 80 57
Vermont 1 20 8 8
Virginia 8 8
Washington 1 20 4 40 8 57
West Virginia 8 8 80 57
Wisconsin 1 20 4 40 8 80 57
Wyoming 1 20 8 8

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *